First thought:  Today the daylong is two minutes and three seconds longer than yesterday.

Second thought:  I was born in lightning. It has haunted me ever since.

Third thought:  The first of the lilacs are announcing. My mother’s spirit is among them, looking skyward.

Fourth thought:  When I woke and said aloud: I made it, another year to the mala strand, I heard my father laughing as he replied: Well. Will wonders never cease.

Fifth thought:  The circling ravens, the paired turtledoves and the long shadows stretching, made by light that pierces.

Sixth thought: So much has fallen away. Some of it grieves me, even in the understanding that all that has fallen from me is designed to free me.

Seventh thought:  When I come to you, I will have questions, after I thank you for the mystery of grace and for this living and for my wild, unknowable heart that strives to rise again and again in answer to your calling.

© 2017 Dora E. McQuaid


Connect with Dora on Facebook

Connect with Dora on Linkedin


 Now shipping!

the scorched earth

Order copies here

the scorched earth spoken by Dora E. McQuaid


Comments or questions are welcome.

* indicates required field


Dora’s efforts to use her voice as an means of activism and advocacy, social and political engagement and individual and collective empowerment and healing are funded, in part, by her readers. This website provides a wide array of resources to support visitors in exploring and living into their truths, and the support offered in return has allowed Dora to maintain this website as a community-driven, advertising-free space for over sixteen years. If you find that this website offers you inspiration or support, information or resources that benefit you or your community or you appreciate Dora’s voice and efforts, please consider making a contribution to keep her work and art alive. Thank you.
All peace to you.